Google Reader’s dead? You can still follow Millard Fillmore’s Bathtub


Ta-ta, Google Reader. There are other Translating Fish in the Sea.

Ta-ta, Google Reader. There are other Translating Fish in the Sea.

A lot of readers subscribed to Millard Fillmore’s Bathtub through Google Reader.  Alas for them, and for reading at this blog, Google Reader will close down on July 1, 2013.

Education automation guru Larry Ferlazzo points to a number of alternatives, almost all of which work here, too:

There are plenty of alternatives to Google Reader if you still want to subscribe using an RSS Reader (see The Best Alternatives To Google Reader Now That It’s Being Shut Down).

After trying out fifteen or twenty alternatives out there, including the new Digg Reader, I have yet to find a service that I think is a great replacement.

However, there’s no value in letting the “perfect be the enemy of the good.”

I’ve finally determined that Feedly is my primary alternative — with a caveat.

I really like Mr. Reader, which is only an iPad app. However, it “syncs” with Feedly. So I’ll be using Feedly on my desktop and on my iPhone, but Mr. Reader on my iPad.

I hope you’ll continue to follow, after the Google Reader shutdown.

On the right side of this blog you’ll find a button for RSS subscriptions, and to follow me on Twitter.  You can find me on Google Plus, but I generally don’t post everything there (I should consider it, I know).  You can subscribe to this blog on e-mail — again, with a button on the right side.

Are there other feeds, or other ways to follow that you think I should use?  Please let me know in comments.

More:

4 Responses to Google Reader’s dead? You can still follow Millard Fillmore’s Bathtub

  1. Ed Darrell says:

    Thanks for the suggestion! What does Netvibes do that the others don’t?

    Like

  2. I used Feedly for over a year, but even with recent changes, I still didn’t like it. I tried 4 choices and ended up with Netvibes.

    Like

  3. whatever4 says:

    I’ve been breaking in Feedly. The experience on the iPad is great, on the PC meh. For example, I can order oldest first on the iPad but not on the PC.

    Like

Play nice in the Bathtub -- splash no soap in anyone's eyes.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,224 other followers

