Windows on art: Happy birthday, Mark Rothko, wherever you are


From the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City:

“Silence is so accurate.” —Mark Rothko, born on this day in 1903. http://met.org/1Wjh0gO

From a Tweet by the Met: “Silence is so accurate.” —Mark Rothko, born on this day in 1903. http://met.org/1Wjh0gO

So many take satisfaction in claiming Rothko simple. My experience is museums buzz with alertness wherever his paintings are displayed. Good conversation starters for modern-eras in history, and not just art history.

Mark Rothko was born September 25, 1903, in Daugavpils, Latvia.  He defied categorization, but is usually regarded as an abstract expressionist, a member of the New York School.

In the photo:

Who is the woman in the photo?

More:

2 Responses to Windows on art: Happy birthday, Mark Rothko, wherever you are

  1. Ed Darrell says:

    I think I saw that same exhibit. You’ve got an interesting perspective on it.

    What I remember is the great sense of relief I got turning a corner from the early work, to the “windows.” I can’t explain it, but they calm me. Reds are supposed to be exciting colors, but I find the reds in Rothko to be saying, “Here, this is where we belong; sit back, relax.”

    I thought that for the first time I had understood why colored squares on a canvas could be called art. Gave me a new perspective on Mondrian, for sure. And then to Picasso, and Braque, and . . .

    Let’s just say I’m fond of Rothko.

    Like

  2. Mikels Skele says:

    Many years ago I saw a Rothko exhibit at the National Gallery. I was fascinated to see his early work in the 50s, which was figural. Slowly, over years, the figures became smaller, and the backgrounds loomed forward, until the human figures disappeared altogether. I think I finally understood Rothko for the first time.

    Like

Please play nice in the Bathtub -- splash no soap in anyone's eyes. While your e-mail will not show with comments, note that it is our policy not to allow false e-mail addresses. Comments with non-working e-mail addresses may be deleted.

