The wolf that keeps me from using Carbonite


A couple of computer crashes and a couple of stolen flashdrives convince me on-line storage might be a good idea.

How could anyone not appreciate a company like Carbonite, named after a Star Wars concept?

So, I wander to the company’s website, and I see this:

Rush Limbaugh endorses Carbonite on-line storage

Rush Limbaugh for Carbonite

Rush Limbaugh?  Seriously?

How can I buy Carbonite if it’s being pushed by Rush?

15 Responses to The wolf that keeps me from using Carbonite

  1. Ed Darrell says:

    I thought it was silly to burn Dixie Chicks CDs because they were right about George Bush, and the demonization of them and their music was one more example of the Bush machine slandering anyone who gives a damn about Vietnam veterans, or the vets themselves.

    Come to think of it, I don’t like Limbaugh MORE for the same reasons.

    Like

  2. I’ll preface this by saying I don’t like Limbaugh, but…

    I thought it was silly to burn one’s dixy chick cds because they opposed George W. Bush. I think I can disagree with someone’s politics, but concede they provide a good or service that is the best. I don’t like Carbonite for other reasons, maybe I’m subconsciously biased though.

    Like

  3. I totally understand your plight, Ed. Glenn Beck ruined gold for me forever. :P

    Like

  4. Jim says:

    I certainly hope Mr. Limbaugh uses Carbonite. Then, maybe he can find in print, all those things he swears he never said. Like referring to an African-American as “Willie” and suggesting he wore a bone in his nose. Or perhaps his now-forgotten enthusiastic support for The Lord’s Resistance Army.

    Did Carbonite save those files, Captain Oxy?

    Jim

    Like

  5. george.w says:

    It seems a bit odd to me to use celebrity pitchmen at all. But of you want to convince me your product is some kind of rational choice, Limbaugh would be pretty far down the list. Show me some random college professor who has a tale about how it saved her dissertation or something. Or a small businessman whose records were protected from loss when the building burned.

    Like

  6. Ed Darrell says:

    Generally, I don’t care about the pitchman. But when the pitchman is an anti-science, pro-torture, pro-genocide guy, I wonder if the people running the company have any sense of honor, or any sense at all. Their technical skills may be very good. If they have a pro-government-invading-private files guy as a spokesman, I worry about the security of my files generally.

    Mussolini was technically good at making trains run on schedule. Joseph Stalin got the Soviet tractor factories up and running in record time. I’m not sure that technical skill at being morally corrupt is a sales point.

    You don’t look at the pitch people? You think Ford should have used Clyde Barrow’s endorsements in their ads?

    Like

  7. Southern Man says:

    Really? You actually evaluate technical products based on who the advertising department chose as their pitchman? That’s really, really strange to me.

    Like

  8. Consider Mozy at Mozy.com. It’s the same idea and with some options that Carbonite doesn’t offer. My biggests issue is that Carbonite will not back up any USB external drives you have attached to your machine. That and him on the website.

    Like

  9. Well, heck, Darth Vader used Carbonite, too …

    (I use Backblaze as my offsite/online backup system. Love ’em.)

    Like

  10. Ed Darrell says:

    Or, we might ask, should a company that is working to keep information secure use as its mascot a drug-addled, politics-addled, ideologue who has supported government snooping of data?

    You, Morgan, certainly support Rush Limbaugh’s drug use, bullying politics, and advocacy of government snooping — right? If you had stock in Carbonite, would you be happy to have Limbaugh as the spokesman? Or might there be someone whose image doesn’t contradict the sale attempt?

    Like

  11. […] or at least placed in jeopardy. Last night he thought he’d announce to the world that he is having trouble signing on to Carbonite […]

    Like

  12. […] or at least placed in jeopardy. Last night he thought he’d announce to the world that he is having trouble signing on to Carbonite […]

    Like

  13. Ellie says:

    All the “progressive” radio talk show people are hawking this, but I agree, seeing this slime’s picture (the person who thinks a murderer and mutilator of children is a good guy ’cause the word “Lord’s” is in the name of his organization) on the website would take me aback also, and I probably wouldn’t purchase it or anything else that allowed him as any kind of a spokesperson.

    Like

  14. […] or at least placed in jeopardy. Last night he thought he’d announce to the world that he is having trouble signing on to Carbonite […]

    Like

Please play nice in the Bathtub -- splash no soap in anyone's eyes. While your e-mail will not show with comments, note that it is our policy not to allow false e-mail addresses. Comments with non-working e-mail addresses may be deleted.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.